Best Watch Ever

by F.

Alessi seems to be going downmarket, which is wonderful–yet another instance of the “great design for everyone” trend. (See, e.g., Target.) I got this watch for less that $100 and it is far better looking than other watches I’ve bought for three times that amount. (I have a weaknesss for clocks and watches.)

Particularly cool are the numbers. It’s always annoyed me that the numbers on a watch face all have the same axis: north-south. Here, the axis changes as we go around the dial. Like a sundial. This feels right to me: time as rotation around a central point, rather than a loop-the-loop. I imagine myself standing at the center of the dial looking at the numbers.

The designers are Achille Castiglioni with Max Huber.

See the rest of the Alessi watches here.

