Chairman of the Bored

by F.

From The Guardian:

Joanna Hopkins, 39, is typical of the highly qualified creative worker whose apparently “exciting” position as marketing manager for a large communications firm turned out to be mind-numbingly dull.

“The job was hard-won, so what a disappointment when I was utterly bored from day one – a new experience for me in my career, so I knew it was the job and not me,” she says. “I worked long, tedious days filled with meetings – then meetings about meetings. I often wasn’t sure why I was there or what I was supposed to contribute.”

Hopkins, who also faced a mountain of “pointless” paperwork and hundreds of emails she had been copied in on for no apparent reason, subsequently left the job and now works as an event manager for the RAC – a position that is “much more interesting and enjoyable”, she says.

Such a surge in paperwork and meetings is producing ripe conditions for a boom in boredom. Figures from the British Chamber of Commerce show the UK government has introduced more than 900 new workplace regulations in the past decade.

Corporate missives from on high undermine control and make work duller, says Mann. “Even many graduate or skilled jobs now have detailed guidelines or even a script setting out what you must say or do.

The rest.

