Blackberrys and iPods

by F.

I got a Blackberry at work. It’s fairly cool, has a nice screen and a good keyboard. It’s fast, well designed, and the interface does what it’s supposed to do: in other words, it does the likely thing (as opposed to, say, Windows, which is like your retarded half-brother by second-generation incest—it just has no fucking clue what’s going on.) So I’m playing with Blacky (I name my gadgets), learning how to turn it on, off, lock it, get to Google, make calls, and other stuff. Pretty cool.

At the end of the day I go downstairs to catch the bus home. I pull out my iPod to listen to a lecture I ripped with HandBrake (which kicks ass.) It’s a lecture, coincidentally enough, on antitrust and competition policy. I’m standing there with my headphones on looking at my iPod, and then I look at my Blackberry. iPod. Blackberry. iPod. Blackberry. Now, the Blackberry is cool. But it looks sort of like what you would expect. It’s a gadget. It has a very busy interface. Lots of buttons and symbols and a wheel and two side-buttons and an on-off switch and little holes in the front so it can understand my speech.

The iPod looks like it came from fucking outer space. From the future. It looks like it is controlled via telepathy. I mean, you look at this device and you think, “How could it work?” It doesn’t look like a gadget. Which is one of the reasons it’s so cool and most devices are so stupid.

