Towards a New Alarm Clock

by F.

Other than being jolted awake by a fire alarm, I can’t think of a much worse way to start the morning than the typical alarm clock. I’ve certainly had a lot of alarms, some with mechanical ringers, others with radios, others with CD players. All suck, either because they are too gentle (the CD player playing Handel) or because they are too shrill (the typical buzzing clock radio or the CD player playing Pantera).

Thankfully, I’ve found the solution: felis sylvestris catus. One of my cats comes into the bedroom at nearly the same time each morning and, rather than bite my nose or lick my cheek (which feels like being exfoliated with emory board) she merely rubs against my back or hand or foot. It’s enough to wake me up, and the feeling of a warm, furry, purring cat rubbing on you in the morning isn’t a bad way to start the day. And from her point of view, she gets breakfast. Not a bad deal.

[composed and posted with ecto]

